top of page

How the CW's Arrow Missed Its Mark?

Another review based on DC Comics, but today, I'm focusing on the CW's Arrow.


I understand everyone loves the DC comic stories, but let's face it...too much IS too much, repeating scenarios over and over with new characters. Arrow unfortunately is stuck on repeat.


In the beginning, the series follows Oliver Queen returning to Star City after he was stranded on a mysterious island for 10 years. Once he planted his feet on the hard concrete streets of Star City and settling in with family, he decided to take to the hood. I don't mean that figuratively speaking. I mean that literally, as he jumped around on rooftops dressed in a green hoodie with a bow, keeping that SECRET life exactly that...a secret.


But too bad the secret couldn't stay under the hood.


Seasons later I'm still tuning in to the series because either there was nothing else on at that time slot or an episode caught my attention.


But then, the flashbacks of Oliver's past on THE ISLAND and the present ruined it for me because I was too busy trying to understand what took place in either time periods to really enjoy the series.


The fighting choreography is amazing and perfectly executed; acting too is fantastic and the casting for all the roles is on spot, as each actor brings their character to life.


Throughout the seasons, things were slow then picked up pace...SIGH...only to slow down once more.


Now, the ONLY scenario that I REALLY enjoyed and found fascinating, was the season that focused on the LEAGUE OF ASSASSINS, run by the powerful and ageless RA's AL GHUL, where they brought to life the ancient order, warriors and teachings. That was intriguing to me because it reached out to my warrior's spirit and makes me wish there really was a L.o.A. Hey, maybe there is, who knows? If so, sign me up!


Now however after that season, the series lost its spice with the current season (SEASON 6), focusing on Oliver Queen as Mayor of Star City run with crap. After Damien Dark's character in the previous season tried destroying the city, Oliver's trying to lead a Mayor's life, but...and yes there's a but...he's still trying to continue his secret life as Green Arrow in the Shadows.


Hey, Oliver...take inspiration from Assassin's Creed and use this as your campaign quote: "I work in the dark, to serve Star City."


Oops, sorry readers but I'm currently thinking about getting in some game time during this post. Hehehe ;)


<CLEARS THROAT> Sorry ;)


The plot of the new season, is eh...but now they're adding in an entirely new team of unknown superheros after the Arrow's team split. That sucks because I liked Arrow's team. This scenario's nothing more than the Arrow babysitting troubled youths. I only watched like...2 and a half eps before I stopped watching it completely.


Another thing that ruined the series for me, was the breakup between Falicity and Oliver. Falicity, have you seen Oliver!? Stupid ass woman! He's gorgeous and a good guy who does though, need to quit the righteous streak for it's boring.


Now, I love Stephen Amell don't get me wrong and he rocks that green leather outfit, OH SO PERFECTLY in all the right places, but that's not enough. He needs to smile more, too. He has such a handsome smile.


Bring back the LEAGUE OF ASSASSINS and more ancient techniques and teachings. Then, I'll tune in every week.


Anyway, my rating of the CW's ARROW is a fair 4 ⭐⭐⭐⭐ The writers need to up their game and spice up the storylines.

bottom of page