top of page

An Adventure That Warms Your Heart...


Never watched the animated version so I'm not familiar with the story, but finally I was able to watch this 2016 version.


I absolutely loved it!


The story was heartwarming and kept me watching since the opening scene where the story began, introducing Pete and his family. I felt tears stinging my eyes watching as Pete climbed out of the car, looking back to see that his mother and father were killed. Poor little Pete.


After running into the forest; chased by hungry wolves, it was then Pete encountered this large beast appearing through the thick dense trees. A dragon. The true definition of a gentle giant. He could've easily killed Pete and if he had, he wouldn't have been enough to fill his hallow tooth. The dragon unnamed at this point took Pete under his wing; literally.


Fast forward 6 years>>>


Pete, now 11 years old running through the woods with Elliot (the dragon with a name) enjoying the layout of the land. I loved Elliot's adorable puppy-like quality, making me fall in love with his character even more and wishing I could find my own dragon.


The relationship between Pete and Elliot was tender, as they were literally all each other had and the story beautifully told.


However, I understand that they wanted to keep some of the originality of Elliot's design, but the CGI done was a little under developed but they pulled it off non-the-less.


The one thing that got me riled up and proved accurate and realistic, was man's reaction to discovering a mythological creature. Always trying dominate something that's not human. That was spot on! If creatures of myth were to reveal themselves, this would be man's first instinct. Capture and kill.


And it certainly wouldn't be as kind as putting Elliot in a warehouse.


Now, put that aside.


I love the cast with Bryce Dallas Howard, Karl Urban and Robert Redford; all of whom I favor immensely. And it was great seeing Robert Redford bringing his presence back to the screen. Even though I wasn't born yet during his film reign, I've watched his films and he's amazing.


And the ending, was perfect where Elliot reunited with his own family. That was heartwarming and glad the film had a happy ending for both Elliot and Pete.


Everything about this film was beautifully told and executed.


I highly recommend this film for families and those who are kids at heart.

My rating of DISNEY'S PETE'S DRAGON (2016) is an excellent 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

bottom of page