top of page

Where's the DIRTY in this Dirty Dancing 2017 Reboot!?


When I first heard they were going to make a reboot of this classic film, I was disappointed because they were going to take this film and mess up. Only, I didn’t realize how much they would. There were so many things wrong with this reboot and I’m going to list them, giving my honest and blunt opinion which a lot of people WILL NOT like.


1: The story plot was horrible, having scenarios that weren’t needed or necessary; clogging the film with loads of boring and yawn worthy detail. I literally rolled my eyes at EVERY SINGLE scene throughout the duration of the film, which is time I will never get back!


2: The dancing was absolutely pathetic and stiff! Where was the hot and I mean hot, sexy, steamy and lustful Latin dancing!? It wasn’t there, at all and the choreography was even worse. I think from what I remember, J. Lo’s boyfriend Casper (or whatever his name is) had a hand in the dance numbers! I don’t know what dance school he went to but if you’re dancing alongside Jennifer Lopez, then you need to know how to dance and this was nothing compared to the original film. Everything was horrible! The dances were more hip-hop-pop…if even that!


3: The cast for the two main roles was bad too! This reboot of Johnny (Colt Prattes) lacked ALL sex appeal and the lustful moves of the character. Even his acting wasn’t the greatest but Baby’s (Abigail Breslins) reboot was worse! Poor girl, I know she probably wasn’t used to that sort of dancing in real life but she too, lacked the inexperience to ACT inexperienced of that world. Does that make sense!? Plus too, I didn’t like how they made this 2017’s Baby a weak little flower, flowing through the moves as if she was afraid to put some guts into it. Her feet NEVER made any other movements other than just skidding across the floor but even that was an effort.


4: Seriously…a musical version of the original!? What is this…a supposedly Latin version of High School Musical!? If so, it didn’t work out! At least HSM had actual dance numbers where the cast ACTUALLY moved their bodies in ways they should! But singing throughout every song was yet I say again, boring!


5: The music was rebooted too!? Come on! Couldn’t they have at least kept the original music instead of hip-hopping it out!? Especially the song that Patrick Swayze himself wrote and sang for the classic film!? The music was horrible!


6: The other cast members were alright, except Sarah Hyland! I’m sorry, but she bugs the hell out of me and reminds me of a mouse and I love mice! Sorry, not sorry. Enough said on that matter!


7: The reboot featured the talented and beautiful Nicole Scherzinger however, I DID NOT recognize her until I heard her voice which was the best part of the film. Her character lacked the professionalism as the original Penny! Sorry, Nicole!


8: The chemistry was dull and flat. Actually, there wasn’t any and it showed! Reminds me of Freeform’s Shadowhunters. Oops, wrong series on a different review. Even the love scene between Johnny and Baby was flat!


And last but not least #9 which is all about the ending!


What the hell did they do!? The ending was all about them finally connecting and becoming one with each other and this reboot lacked that concept greatly! The dancing too, was horrific and everyone hardly even moved! Feet slid across the floor without actual dance steps; shoulders moved slightly and everyone jumped around. Really!? That’s dancing!? Oh, please! I just couldn’t believe…they ruined the beauty of that dance between Johnny and Baby!


If they’re going to do reboots on films like this, they seriously need to keep to the originality and definitely stick to similar dance sequences! The only dancer I could think of that could’ve pulled off that Swayze sexiness, is Dancing With the Stars’ Derek Hough!


But even then, there’s only ONE Patrick Swayze who could pull off that oozing, sexy dancer!


. . . . *clears throat*


Sorry, I was just daydreaming!


Anyway as a Latina woman myself, I was disappointed to see this reboot lacked all of that Latin fire!


My overall review rating of DIRTY DANCING 2017 is a blunt and dull 2 ⭐⭐ and that’s the lowest rating I think I’ve ever given!


If a film is going to get a reboot, Directors, Producers and Writers need to keep to the original work!


This movie was just so sad to watch in EVERY aspect!

bottom of page