top of page

The Shape of Water Splashes Love Into Your Heart!


The Cast:
Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Octavia Spencer, Michael Stuhlbarg and Doug Jones

Synopsis:

Elisa is a mute, isolated woman who works as a cleaning lady in a hidden, high-security government laboratory in 1962 Baltimore. Her life changes forever when she discovers the lab's classified secret -- a mysterious, scaled creature from South America that lives in a water tank. As Elisa develops a unique bond with her new friend, she soon learns that its fate and very survival lies in the hands of a hostile government agent and a marine biologist.

 

My Review: My-my…what can I say other than it warmed my heart because it was such a beautiful film.


I’ve heard that TSoW recently went under its share of a scandal due to copyright issues, stating that it was too similar to a play and possibly stolen. Well, all of that is thrown out the window.


I can definitely see why this film is receiving all the hype for the upcoming awards! It deserves every single one they’re nominated for! From beginning to end, this film touched my heart. Love and friendship, hate and jealousy, cruelty and inhumanity were emotions all contained within this film. I couldn’t find anything wrong with anything. The actors were amazing in their roles, bringing to them life but the major credit goes to the fantastic Doug Jones for his once again, sleek and elegant take on the Amphibious creature; something only he could bring. The ending, omg…I cried my eyes out because she was finally happy and accepted for who she was…which was obviously a creature herself (hence the gills on her neck that appeared to be scars). All I can say more, is beautifully done to everyone involved.


My rating for The Shape of Water is a splashing

5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


bottom of page