top of page

"The Last Jedi" Lost In A Black Hole Far, Far...Very Far Away!


Cast:

Mark Hamill, Daisy Ridley, Carrie Fisher, John Boyega, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac


Synopsis: Rey develops her newly discovered abilities with the guidance of Luke Skywalker, who is unsettled by the strength of her powers. Meanwhile, the Resistance prepares for battle with the First Order.


 

My Review: As a Star Wars fan; like any other, I was a little excited when they decided to revamp or continue the franchise. However, sometimes films are better left off where they ended. The previous film; STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS, was the beginning of a new Star Wars era, with THE LAST JEDI continuing that storyline. So, let me begin my review with my PROS and CONS.


PROS: (1) Loved seeing Chewie again, although he only graced the screen for a few seconds, with the adorable little Porgs that I just want to cuddle on the couch with. I want one!

(2) These Vulptex creatures made of crystal ice were remarkably beautiful but I couldn't help but think they belonged in Pokemon, more than the Star Wars universe. The pic below I take no credit for but it suits my opinion perfectly! And obviously someone else had the same idea in mind when this image was made, hahaha :)



(3) The Fathiers reminded me of overgrown dogs that I also wanted to cuddle and I loved their oversized ears.



(4) And of course, BB8 always rolled into frame at the right time :) So, kudos to you BB8!

(5) The acting was amazing and I honestly can't find anything wrong in that aspect!



(6) My favorite part of the film and that of my mom's; when Luke Skywalker disappeared from the cliff after confronting Kylo Ren. Was he ever really there on "Jedi" island or was he allowed time to finish his take of training Rey? Who knows but he truly was the last Jedi, despite the Jedi continuation with who!? Rey!? Oh, please! :(



CONS: (1) The fighting techniques lagged and the actors just moved through the scenes, with no effort. Particularly Kylo Ren (Adam Driver). The lack of light-saber usage too, was disappointing even though they were used during the fight between Kylo Ren and Rey. Star Wars and the entire galaxy far, far away is nothing without the famous light-sabers. But the most disgusting part and scene of the film, was Luke milking that uh...Thala-siren and drinking its cloudy milk. That was 100% gross! I'd rather starve and dehydrate! Just a look at those, um...nipple sacks, made me sick. I mean, do they sit there all day waiting for someone to come along and yank their nipples and milk them!? Eeww! Do they have babies!? This scene was totally unnecessary, I think.



Despite my PROS and CONS, my favorite thing was watching the late Carrie Fisher reprise her role and knowing this was her last project, was touching.



My over all rating of STAR WARS: THE LAST JEDI is a poor 2 ⭐⭐ but I give 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ to Carrie Fisher's acting and final screen presence.

bottom of page