top of page

The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina Embarks on A Darker Path


Cast: Kiernan Shipka, Ross Lynch, Gavin Leatherwood, Chance Pordomo, Lucy Davis, Michelle Gomez, Miranda Otto, Tait Gabrielle, Jaz Sinclair, Abigail Cowen, Adeline Rudolph and Ricard Coyle


Synopsis: This adaptation of the "Sabrina the Teenage Witch" tale is a dark coming-of-age story that traffics in horror and the occult. In the reimagined origin story, Sabrina Spellman wrestles to reconcile her dual nature -- half-witch, half-mortal -- while standing against the evil forces that threaten her, her family -- including aunts Hilda and Zelda -- and the daylight world humans inhabit. Kiernan Shipka ("Mad Men") leads the cast in the titular role of the show that is based on a comic series of the same name.


 

My Review: When I heard Netflix signed on this new dark occult series, I was a little skeptical. Okay, quite a lot actually. I thought the series would turn out to be boring and overrated (compared to the cute and magical original series), but it turned out being one of my favorite programs...especially from Netflix. I love the darker spin to the Spellman family and the entire storyline. Running a morgue and mortuary? That's freaky and just weird. But I like it, haha :) Yes, yes...I know. I'm dark. I think however, the constant praising of Satan (which isn't even his real name) worship, was totally overdone quite a lot. Even Lucifer himself, must have grown tired with the constant false praise, but I don't speak for him. I enjoyed the series nonetheless and admire all the research done into creating the storys' myths about Lilith and Lucifer, even though most of it was based on fact. I do wish though, they would have shown more magic other than just the recitement of spells. But that's okay. Spells are part of magic.


The cast was well picked except for the role of Lucifer. I'm sure there were other actors more suitable but the actor was fine enough for the character spent on screen. At least the actor was tall and very statuesque; can't complain there. But...I know, I know, there's always a but...but, how can measely humans (witches or not) defeat an archangel that can just destroy everything and everyone with the snap of his fingers? He's definitely not a human wannabe, playing the piano in an L.A. nightclub either. But, hey...whatever. That's mankinds' frame of mind thinking they can defeat a higher angelic being and that we're the ultimate race. Bleh, that's bull crap! Humans are nothing but parasites to them.


I was sad to see handsome Nick being taken to Hell. Sabrina fell for him; just to lose him before they can begin something real. Which is why, I'm looking forward to season 3. There's nothing wrong with a little darkness in our lives. Just as long as it isn't harmful. Besides, we ALL have a little yin and yang in us, don't we?


Anyway, my rating for THE CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA, is a bewitching and spellbinding

5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

bottom of page