top of page

One, Two..."IT" is Looking For You!


Cast: Bill Skarsgard, Sophia Lillis, Finn Wolfgard, Jaedan Lieberher, Jack Dylan Grazer, Jeremy Ray Taylor, Wyatt Oleff, Nicholas Hamilton, Chosen Jacobs, Jessica Chastain, Bill Hader, James McAvoy, Jay Ryan, James Ransone, Isaiah Mustafa, Any Bean and Stephen King (the clerk behind the counter selling the bike)



IT Synopsis: Seven young outcasts in Derry, Maine, are about to face their worst nightmare; an ancient, shape-shifting evil that emerges from the sewer every 27 years to prey on the town's children. Banding together over the course of one horrifying summer, the friends must overcome their own personal fears to battle the murderous, bloodthirsty clown known as Pennywise.


IT Chapter Two Synopsis: Defeated by members of the Losers' Club, the evil clown Pennywise returns 27 years later to terrorize the town of Derry, Maine, once again. Now adults, the childhood friends have long since gone their separate ways. But when people start disappearing, Mike Hanlon calls the others home for one final stand. Damaged by scars from the past, the united Losers must conquer their deepest fears to destroy the shape-shifting Pennywise; now more powerful than ever.


 

My Review: I hate clowns. I don't know why, but I just do. They're freaky and creep me the hell out so watching the reboot based on Stephen King's novels, was a brave move. But I admire Stephen King's works and films so I took a chance and I'm glad I did. These films made my fear a little worse but I didn't care because these films were kick ass amazing! The first film of course, begins the story of how the characters meet Pennywise; the demonic clown hiding in the street drain that took Georgie; Bill's little brother that played in the rain chasing after his paper boat. I still don't look at streets drains the same and expect a creepy voice to speak to me. I know, I watch way too many horror movies!


I don't have to really to explain the story much because everyone's already familiar with it so I'll just continue with the clown. Bill Skarsgard was unrecognizable in the role but holy sh*t he pulled it off excellently! He really put on the fear factor to the highest levels! This take on the demon clown of course, was more intense than the original film and the CGI for its crazy creature features (oops, ignore the rhyme) was terrifying! Like I said, I hate clowns and every time Pennywise had screentime I had to keep watching to see what happened next. This film had that "gotta keep you on the edge of your seat" kind of vibe, you know? Of course you do. Nothing much left to say about the first chapter so I'll move on IT: CHAPTER TWO where the story continues; all the kids grew up, moving on with their lives and out of the small town of Derry and with a name like that, I'm waiting for cousins Ben and Jerry's ice cream to make a presence. (clears throat) Sorry :)


The casting choice for the adults was on point for the adult cast resembled the kid actors nicely especially Isaiah Mustafa! He looked Chosen Jacobs' older brother! The adults that had left the town, seemed to have lost their memory of what had happened during their childhood Summer and for good reason. The flashbacks of all the in between moments that weren't shown in the first film, helped pieced together any blanks viewers may have had. I thought the first film did perfectly, flowing easily but the flashbacks were a nice touch for the second film.


All of the little demons that sprouted here and there were the perfect horror inspired sub-characters and watching them appear; in all sorts of ways, made me admire Mr. King even more because his imagination is impeccable! And the recreation of those ideas with the use of the amazing CGI as stated above, was fantastic! Although now, when I'm at a Chinese restaurant, I won't look at a plate of fortune cookies the same. I wouldn't want little demons sprouting from my food! Ew! :p


Now, not only is the demon concept clear but I never would have guessed it had a sub-alien plot! That whole meteor-looking thing and place was intriguing and the endless mouths with their endless teeth that needed some serious dental care (are ETs covered for dental?) was terrifying! IT appearing as a multi-legged clown was something that could give clown-haters some serious nightmares. Two legs are bad enough right? But multi-legs...good lord! My favorite part was watching all the characters stand up to the clown in a moment of united strength, making him feel small (literally) until he was nothing but a scared lump of...lump of...well, lump of whatever he was. And then that proved the theory...IT had a heart. Awe, but crushing it was a nice touch making sure it ended the horrific nightmare on Derry and its past residents.


And PS: having Stephen King make his cameo appearance, was a nice touch because he had to be a part of his film! Amazing job, Mr. King...absolutely amazing! He truly is the Master of Horror books and movie adaptations! I'm proud to have been compared to his works in my readers reviews of my own book series!




I rate IT and IT: CHAPTER TWO a horrifying, fun and entertaining 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ plus.

bottom of page